Keynote Speakers

Prof Em Clara Greed

Dr Clara Greed is emerita professor of inclusive urban planning at the University of the West of England, Bristol. She is now semi-retired but is still active in research, writing and campaigning. She is a member of the Royal Town Planning Institute and other built environment professional bodies.

Greed's activities are focused upon the built environment, architecture, planning, urban design and urban social issues.  She has become infamous for her research and publications on the importance of public toilet provision within the context of urban design, women and planning issues and the social aspects of planning.  She has written and edited over 12 books on urban planning, surveying and urban social issues, many journal articles, newspaper items and toilet documentaries. She has often been invited to be a guest speaker at international conferences, especially in China and other parts of East Asia, most recently in Xi’an. 

Greed is a member of the four British Standards Committees BS6465, Parts 1-IV, on Sanitary Installations. These set the government requirements for the levels of provision, design, location and technical details. Currently, she is investigating the effects upon women of proposals to desegregate public toilets in the UK and the creation of Gender Neutral Toilets.

Dr Christoph Lüthi

Dr Luethi

Dr Christoph Lüthi is an urban infrastructure planner with over 20 years of experience in planning and design of urban infrastructure in middle and low-income countries. He has a Master’s Degree in Urban Development Planning from the University College of London (UCL) and a PhD in Urban Planning & Engineering from the TU Berlin. 

Lüthi has worked on urban planning, infrastructure and sustainable service provision in Asia, Africa and Latin America. In 2005 he joined the Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology (Eawag) as head of the Strategic Environmental Sanitation Planning Group. At Eawag he works on state-of-the-art planning tools and frameworks such as Sanitation 21 or CLUES: Community-Led Urban Environmental Sanitation.  

Since 2015, Lüthi heads the Department for Sanitation, Water and Solid Waste for Development (Sandec) at Eawag.

Prof Nikolas Rose

Nikolas Rose is Professor of Sociology in the Department of Global Health and Social Medicine at King’s College London. He originally trained as a biologist before switching to psychology and then to sociology. After ten years at Goldsmiths College, where he was Head of Sociology and Pro-Warden for Research, he joined the London School of Economics in 2002 and was Convenor of the Department of Sociology from 2002 to 2006 and Martin White Professor of Sociology. He founded the BIOS Centre for the Study of Bioscience, Biomedicine, Biotechnology and Society at LSE, and was its Director since its inception in 2003.  He joined King's in January 2012 to establish the new Department which aims to bring the approaches of social medicine to bear on contemporary biomedical research and clinical practice, especially in the world’s poorest regions.

Nikolas Rose has published widely on the social and political history of the human sciences, on the genealogy of subjectivity, on the history of empirical thought in sociology, on law and criminology, and on changing rationalities and techniques of political power. For the last decade, his work has focussed on the conceptual, social and political dimensions of the contemporary life sciences and biomedicine. His current research concerns biological and genetic psychiatry and behavioural neuroscience.  His study of the social implications of the rise of the new brain sciences, written with Joelle Abi-Rached,  was published by Princeton University Press in 2012 as Neuro: The New Brain Sciences and the Management of the Mind. Other recent books include Powers of Freedom: Reframing Political Thought (Cambridge University Press, 1999), The Politics of Life Itself: Biomedicine, Power, and Subjectivity in the Twenty-First Century (Princeton University Press, 2006) and (with Peter Miller) Governing the Present.  His long overdue book Our Psychiatric Future: The politics of mental health will be published by Polity in October 2018.  He is currently working on a book on urban mental life and mental health, with Des Fitzgerald, to be published as Vital City: metropolitan life, mental health and the urban brain Princeton University Press, 2019.

Nikolas Rose is a longstanding member of the Editorial Board of Economy and Society and co-editor of BioSocieties: an interdisciplinary journal for social studies of the life sciences. He has worked closely with several advisory groups including the Nuffield Council on Bioethics, the Royal Society and the Academy of Medical Sciences. He is Chair of the European Neuroscience and Society Network, a unique interdisciplinary collaboration of social scientists, philosophers, lawyers, neuroscientists and psychiatrists. 

Dr Farhana Sultana

Dr Farhana Sultana is an Associate Professor of Geography at the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs of Syracuse University, where she is also the Research Director for Environmental Collaboration and Conflicts at the Program for the Advancement of Research on Conflicts and Collaboration (PARCC). 

Dr Sultana is an internationally recognized interdisciplinary scholar of political ecology, water governance, post‐colonial development, social and environmental justice, climate change, and gender. Her research and scholar-activism draw from her experiences of having lived and worked on three continents as well as from her backgrounds in the natural sciences, social sciences and policy experience. Prior to joining Syracuse, she taught at King’s College London and worked at United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). 

Author of several dozen publications, her recent books are The Right to Water: Politics, Governance and Social Struggles and Eating, Drinking: Surviving. Dr Sultana graduated Cum Laude from Princeton University and obtained her Masters and PhD from University of Minnesota, where she was a John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Fellow.